2013 Square Foot Garden Update #2

Tuesday was one of my favorite gardening days of the year. I went to Scottsville, Kentucky and bought my plants from the Mennonite greenhouse. DSCN6983I love the variety of plants and herbs and the prices. So I browsed for around an hour, bought lots of plants and brought them home. I splurged on the big tomato plants–they were $2.50 a piece, instead of $1 for a four pack (if you bought in bulk) but the big ones already had blooms, and in some cases, tomatoes already growing. That will bring my tomato harvest earlier by close to a month. Here are my tomatoes: I got one cherry tomato plant, as well as a Cherokee Purple, Early Girl, Mountain Fresh, and Roma.

See the tomatoes?

See the tomatoes?

My pole beans started coming up this week-tiny but healthy. I can’t wait to see if they catch up with the peas, which are growing very quickly!

Tiny little bean sprouts

Tiny little bean sprouts

 

I bought sweet potato slips, but don’t have them in the ground yet, because of the carrots and broccoli. These are carrots I planted last fall that grew leisurely all winter. Aren’t they pretty?

cropped carrots

I have tiny little heads forming on the broccoli, so I have hope for a spring crop this year. Last year it got too hot and I didn’t get any broccoli at all. That was sad.

DSCN7000

Here are the pictures of the beds:

Back row and along the right side: sugar snap peas; Next row, lettuce; next row rosemary and lettuce; front row, broccoli and onions.

Back row and along the right side: sugar snap peas; Next row, lettuce; next row rosemary and lettuce; front row, broccoli and onions.

 

Future sweet potatoe/pole bean and bush bean bed. Right now spinach, lettuce, carrots and parsley, with pole bean sprouts in the back at the trellis.

Future sweet potato/pole bean and bush bean bed. Right now spinach, lettuce, carrots and parsley, with pole bean sprouts in the back at the trellis.

 

Tomatoes along the right hand side; broccoli, lettuce, carrots and jalepenos

Tomatoes along the right hand side; broccoli, lettuce, carrots, onions,  and jalapenos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Gardening

One response to “2013 Square Foot Garden Update #2

  1. Pingback: TGIF Friday PLAYday: Grow a Fun Wellness Garden | Eat Play Move

Leave a Reply

