Gratitude for His Watching

They come every winter to strip the berries off the holly trees. An enormous flock of cedar waxwings fly in the icy cold weather and worry the mockingbirds until they are beside themselves, but even that aggressive pair is no match of hundreds and hundreds of these sweet little birds. I love them. They pick the berries, then share them with each other. They take their turn eating, then fly off to a nearby tree and allow the others in their flock to eat as well. This year, one day in February or March, I saw about 3, then they disappeared. I was very disappointed, because I love watching these birds. The trees are always empty of berries this time of year, and only yesterday I’d been thinking about all those berries wasted without the waxwings’ annual visit.

Imagine my surprise this past week, on a beautiful morning as the sun was rising. After an early morning trip to the Y and the grocery store, I got out of the car and I heard them. Waxwings have a sweet, almost cooing, sighing call. I thought I was dreaming, but I looked up into the tree and it was full of my beautiful little friends. The first thing to come into my mind was the old song “His Eye is on the Sparrow.” He knew I was less than enthusiastic about my 5 a.m. exercise and trip to the store. He knew I’d missed the waxwings in the winter. He somehow arranged this little flock to come to my yard, just when I was out in the cool of the morning. What a sweet gift I would have missed from the Lord! Did seeing the birds change my circumstances? Nope. But the reminder that He surely watches me (and loves me) was an encouragement I needed this morning, and probably every morning.

My list for the week:

A gift in a bag, a box, and a book:

  • grandmother-daughter shopping trip for sweet girls’ upcoming birthday
  • book finally come in the mail
  • another long-awaited book from the library

3 hard eucharisteos:

  • learning to praise Him for the non-steady income, yet faithful provision from the Father
  • qualifying for a refi on the house due to our “unfortunate circumstances”
  • watching Boston explode and Texas burn, and still believe God is sovereign

3 gifts woven together:

  • the mystery of the weaving together of the body of Christ, and the sweet group I get to meet with on Wednesday nights
  • dear friends woven into my life by the Lord
  • blanket for chilly morning snuggles on the couch with my little one

3 gifts inherited:

  • love of the Word from my mother–I remember getting up for school and her sitting and reading her Bible, getting ready to lead her small group of BSF ladies
  • love of the land from my grandparents
  • a godly heritage

3 gifts square:

  • my wee little square garden beds, filled with promise of spring and summer mealsDSCN6958
  • square netting tied up for trellises–a fun time with my daughter working together
  • square table and time to dissect with my daughter–gross, but fleeting time with my one that’s growing up too fast

3 gifts stacked, stashed, stilled:

  • books in the library basket
  • winter coats, hats, mittens and snow pants stashed in the attic for the season
  • a frantic heart stilled by peace

3 gifts found in Christ:

  • You cannot experience life–if life comes from the breath of God, which is spirit–you cannot experience the God-kind of life from anything other than that which flows from Spirit.

    Our addictions aren’t going to give us life because they don’t come from Spirit…the only way to nourish the spirit is through the Spirit.–Brian Wade, Sr. Pastor Belmont Church

  • “The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.” John 3:8
  • “It was for freedom that Christ set us free; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1

And here’s a lovely rendition of “His Eye is on the Sparrow” I found on youtube. Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Gratitude, Joy Dare

One response to “Gratitude for His Watching

  1. McLauren Foster

    Lara, your experience with the waxwings has played out so many times in my life too… In one particularly low point being on the road all the time, indoors and traveling, I regularly asked the Lord for a deer sighting! And invariably there, beside the train (or Autobahn, it was in Germany) would be a deer or two…usually within a few minutes of praying. He knows what small things delight our hearts. Thanks for the reminder to keep our eyes open!

Leave a Reply

