On Birds and Winter Art at our House

Cedar waxwings (Bombycilla cedrorum)just retur...

So every year, usually in February, an enormous flock of cedar waxwings shows up at our house and proceed to eat every holly berry off our two enormous holly trees. They sit in the branches of nearby trees and take turns, because there are too many birds to fit at one time. Even though they take turns, the branches droop from the weight of so many birds. The mocking birds that live in the trees spend all day trying to chase them off and they never can, because there are hundreds and hundreds of waxwings. It’s the only day all year I see the waxwings and I love them because they’re so beautiful. Often when they pick the berries, they fly off to a neighboring tree and then share the berry they picked with another bird. I watched for them all month and they never came.

 

 

 

This morning I got up this morning, the first of March, and heard the mockingbirds fussing. A flock of robins, one bluebird and one cedar waxwing were out scarfing down the berries. I’m hoping as the day progresses, the waxwing’s flock will catch up with it so I can spend the day at the windows watching them. This is the one day of the year I wished I had a better camera. My little point-and-shoot usually does everything I need it to, but I’d love to have a “real” lens to capture all those birds! (the waxwing picture is not mine–it’s a wordpress picture)

 

 

 

Because I love birds and have tried to instill this in my children, I try to incorporate birds into our art work. So this collection of our winter art includes two bird pictures. As you may know, I really love Patty Palmer’s Deep Space Sparkle page. She’s an art teacher that puts her plans online and her projects always work. In fact, right now she’s writing about teaching art at home. Go check it out!

We did these fun penguins a couple of weeks ago. Here’s the link to Deep Space Sparkle’s original plans and some pictures of our penguins in progress and finished.

 

 

 

DSCN6614 DSCN6615 DSCN6613DSCN6641 DSCN6623 DSCN6622

 

 

 

We also did cardinals on snowy branches. They enjoyed that too. We like birds around here, so doing two bird pictures was no problem! Here’s the link to the original plan and here’s our paintings. Well, here’s two of them. Someone hung theirs up in the house and I can’t find it…DSCN6717

 

 

 

We also did polar bears. What can I say? We’ve only gotten about 1 inch of snow all winter, so we have to live winter vicariously through our art:). This was from a link up from Deep Space Sparkle to another artist’s blog, that artist woman. The bottom left hand painting is my 6 year-old’s painting. Instead of a “regular” night sky, he decided to make his look like the Northern Lights 🙂DSCN6718

 

 

 

And last but not least, last Christmas I found a painting online with instructions and did it myself. I decided the kids would be able to handle it and they did a great job, though now we have 5 of these around our house:). As always with a group of mixed ages, it’s interesting to see the differences in what the kids painted. THe first one is mine, then the next are some my kids did and some of my friend’s kids as well.DSCN6350DSCN6529DSCN6530 DSCN6532 DSCN6526

 

 

 

That’s all the winter art we’ve done. I’m about ready to switch over to spring flowers. How about you?

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Homeschool

One response to “On Birds and Winter Art at our House

  1. Hello there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking
    about this. I will forward this write-up to
    him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

