Gratitude through dreariness

It’s been quite grey and gloomy here, with cold rain and no snow at the beginning of last week, with a nice rebound this past weekend. And with a sick child most of the week (and one last week too), well, we’ve been home pretty much every day. I’ve been thankful my husband has been available to take people to ballet and piano (and my mom to take Happy Girl to Spanish!), and then stayed home so I could go to church for a conference Wednesday night. So many people I know are struggling right now, all different, difficult life experiences–unemployment, cancer, short-term illness, and others I don’t even know.

Life’s hard sometimes. Very hard.

It is easy for me to get overwhelmed with all I have to do right now. VERY overwhelmed to the point I feel paralyzed. I’m reading through the book of Matthew, and  I read the passage about not worrying about tomorrow, because today has enough trouble of its own.  Yep. That’s for sure. When I wonder how much longer I can keep this up, I’m trying to remember that verse. And with my gratitude list, I’m making a point to remember each day has gifts from the Father. Some days those gifts are very obvious. Some days I have to look pretty hard to find a gift, much less three! But those I have to look so hard to find, are just as precious, if not more so than the obvious gifts, because often, to find them, I have to acknowledge a gift that was there all along–one I’d not seen or thought of, or had taken for granted. But it’s still a gift from the greatest giver of them all.

So I’m learning to take manna from the Lord, each and every day. Manna in the form of His Word, His daily blessings, His still, small voice. And while I write these blessings down, and can go back and look at them later, His mercies are new every morning.

My list for the week:

3 startling graces of God:

  • that He loved us so much to send His son to die for us, and we certainly don’t deserve it!
  • to give me an amazing husband and children to walk through this life with
  • a family history of grace and mercy

A gift worn, given away, shared:

  • Smartwool socks for chilly mornings
  • taking time to sit quietly and cuddle with my young’uns
  • an amazing sunset after the clouds finally brokeDSCN6535

3 witnessed blessings:

  • small kindnesses between siblings
  • husband taking girls to piano
  • my mama making a Costco run and taking daughter to Spanish

A gift bringing laughter, prayer, quiet:

  • board game with the kids
  • 1000 Gifts Devotional
  • Overcast morning that let the kids sleep in

3 gifts bringing God’s word:

  • “Though the fig tree should not blossom
    And there be no fruit on the vines,
    Though the yield of the olive should fail
    And the fields produce no food,
    Though the flock should be cut off from the fold
    And there be no cattle in the stalls,
    Yet I will exult in the Lord,
    I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.” Habakkuk 3:17-18
  • So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34
  •  “A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out, till he leads justice to victory.” Matthew 12:20

3 gifts that might never have been:

  • reconciliation that led to giggles on the couch instead of strained silence
  • my youngest two children–conceived after I was healed of infertility
  • amazing Power and Love conference, brought about by the prayer of many

3 gifts seen only close up:

  • tiny freckles on Blue Eyes’ nose
  • tiny blooms on the broccoli in the garden
  • dear friends I got to see “close up” at church today–first time I’ve been able to go since before Christmas!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, Joy Dare

Leave a Reply

