Grateful for a week of “normal”…whatever that is

Well, it was a fairly normal week for us: school, soccer, ballet, piano, church. We took Friday for a field trip day to downtown to tour a World War 2 landing ship and the Frist Museum’s John Constable exhibit, then I worked Saturday. Here’s my gratitude list for the week:

Three gifts ugly-beautiful:

  • sky-high sunflowers that greeted me so cheerfully on summer mornings, now brown, dried, twisted, and heavy with seeds, feeding beautiful goldfinches in my garden
  • table (and floor) splattered with paint and glue stick residue–beautiful new pictures created by my children
  • beach towels set out to dry after a weekend at the lake, forgotten and soaked in 2 inches of rain–beautiful memories of an amazing weekend and most perfect of birthdays for my son

A gift fixed, folded, freckled:

  • banana bread fixed with a new gluten-free flour mix for my gluten-free girl
  • countless loads of laundry washed, dried and folded (and put away!) by my dearest husband while I was at work
  • a ginormous, 9 1/2 pound cushaw, freckled green and white, held by my freckled son:)

3 gifts in conversation:

  • phone conversation with my sister, about nothing and everything
  • phone call from Stacy, for words of encouragement
  •  Having a friend I know well enough to start the kettle and pick out a flavor of caffeinated hot tea when I hear she’s dropping by for a quick chat during swim practice

3 gifts in salvation:

  • “How He loves us, Oh how He loves us so!”–waking up with this song singing in my spirit all week
  • “For who is our hope or joy or crown of exultation? Is it not even you , in the presence of our Lord Jesus at His coming? For you are our glory and joy.” 1 Thess 2:19-20
  • “For the Lord Himself will ascend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet of God and the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we shall always be with the Lord. So comfort one another with these words.”1 Thessalonians 4:16-18

3 gifts of art:

  •  a sale on canvas and a spurt of creativity
  • having a patient art teacher to help me learn about frames
  • watching my kids absorbed at the Frist, in Constable and their own artistic endeavors

A gifts rattling, receding, reclaiming:

  • tea-pot rattling on the stove for my pre-work cup of Irish Breakfast Tea
  • receded pain in my foot, allowing me to work again
  • reclaiming my love for my part-time (paying) job–I LOVE watching man and wife become Mommy and Daddy, meeting their little one for the first time, watching a man adore his wife and nursing child, all worn out from a long night and day of labor, but so content

Three gifts quiet

  • quiet moments to myself in the morning, before anyone else is up worship, paint, be in the Word
  • quiet minutes in the garden picking tomatoes
  • quiet times at night when all my children are tucked in bed reading and I get to read too:)
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, Joy Dare

Leave a Reply

