A week of beginnings, endings and in betweens

3 gifts in water:

  • peach juice dripping down chins
  • ice to tend my daughter’s wounds
  • unbelievably beautiful clouds at sunset

3 gifts in His word:

Did you know the word “all” is in Colossians almost 30 times? God’s all about fullness and completeness:

  • “For in Him all the fullness of Deity dwells in bodily form and in Him you have been made complete and He is head over all rule and authority.” Col 2:9-10
  • When you were dead in your transgressions and the uncircumcision of your flesh, He made you alive together with Him, having forgiven us all our transgressions” (Col 2:13)
  • “So, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience; bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so also should you. Beyond all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity.” Col 3:12-14
  • “Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.” Col 3:17

3 gifts in summer:

  • June bugs, crickets and bats coming out in force at summer twilight
  • sunflowers towering overhead
  • birds singing at dawn

A gift hole, whole, half:

  • the little holes in the earth where I planted my garden, full now with plants bursting with life and produce
  • a whole week of loving friends surrounding me–Tuesday’s tuna lunch with AE, Wednesday’s unexpected Mary Francis meeting, Friday night Shabbat in Joelton with the Pauls, Saturday back to school lunch with a Beth and Sunday’s Belmont Blast
  • First half week of school. Is it really already time for this?

3 hard Eucharisteo:

  • my computer’s all messed up–I can’t get to my pictures (so you can’t see the beautiful sunset I was thankful for), my lesson plans, even online when my husband’s away with the laptop all day. Not sure what to be thankful for in this
  • The place of not knowing what’s next.  It certainly gives you the choice to worry and fret or rest in His provision and sovereignty. I’m choosing rest, even if I have to make that choice every hour. Or every minute, or sometimes with every breath…
  • making the decision to say what needs to be said, even if I’d rather not. Just making the decision brings me peace.

3 gifts of metal:

  • guitar strings–hearing my husband faithfully practicing every day
  • metal patio chairs to sit on and watch the sun set over the Tennessee hills
  • the metal antenna for our TV–I’ve enjoyed using it to watch the Olympics the past two weeks, but I’m thankful to put it away and not watch TV for a LONG while:)

3 gifts half hidden:

  • August meteor showers close to the city lights
  • mourning doves calling out in the predawn
  • “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been fully known.” 1 Cor. 13:12
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, Joy Dare

Leave a Reply

