Grateful for beginnings and endings

A gift high, low, and far away:

  • sunflowers climbing higher by the day
  • sweet potatoes taking over my garden
  • reuniting of friends from far away

3 gifts of sand:

  • my hourglass, to remind me to live intentionally
  • the little sandbox my kids enjoy playing in on the patio
  • the promise of a trip to the beach later in the fall

3 gifts of endings:

  • last full week for my husband’s job, ending a very odd year of employment
  • almost the last week of summer break–but I postponed school starting for a week, so I really have one more week left πŸ™‚
  • the end of the lack of summer produce. I can’t keep up with the harvest of cucumbers!

3 gifts fresh:

  • lovely hidden cantaloupe
  • tomatoes galore
  • personal watermelon–the only one!–growing slowly but steadily

a gift on vacation, at home and relaxation:

  • no vacation here this summer, but we did have fun at the science center with cousin Jack this week πŸ™‚
  • belated birthday party for my daughter
  • sleeping in on Saturday

3 gifts of beginnings:

  • flowers from my husband to celebrate the beginning of the Sabbath and the rest it brings
  • the beginning of a new chapter in our lives as the job hunt starts up
  • a new painting slowly beginning to take shape

3 gifts together:

  • Fourteen years of my children in the nursery and preschool classes at church–together with the most loving laps and arms of Jesus this side of heaven. Bittersweet that my youngest “graduated” to the elementary floor and I won’t have any babies downstairs any more.
  • watching the Olympics together with my kids and husband
  • Eighteen years ago today I said “I do” for richer and poorer, sickness and health, as long as we both shall live to the love of my life, my husband, Jonathan. After becoming a believer in Christ, it was the best decision I ever made. What is a better gift of together than that?

Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, Joy Dare

Leave a Reply

