Summer Reading 2012

The Little White Horse

I went on a cruise with my husband, and in-laws last month and we had lots of fun. One of my very favorite things to do was sit in the shade on deck, and watch the water roll by and read. Early in the morning, I’d get up, grab some orange passion guava juice or hot chocolate, find a quiet deck chair and watch the sun rise, then dig into the Word for a while. Later I’d get some oatmeal and sit overlooking the water and read some of the other books I brought. As a mother of four, ages 14 to 5, I don’t have a lot of uninterrupted reading time, especially books that aren’t considered educational, helpful, etc. Especially the uninterrupted part. I purposefully chose to take my Kindle on the cruise, loaded with my New American Standard Bible, and several other books, but none about homeschooling, gluten-free cooking, or anything like that. It was a blissful week of reading for me!

So here are some books on my list for the summer, a couple I took with me, the rest I hope to read before summer’s over:

  • Total Forgiveness by R.T. Kendall –I already finished it and want to read it again. All I can say is read the book! Read the book! Read the book!
  • The Scent of Water by Elizabeth Goudge–I LOVED The Little White Horse as a child, and still do. This book is for adults, a lovely, thought-provoking story. A rather amazing woman drops her busy, amusing, important life in London to live in a tiny speck of a village in the English countryside. She discovers much about love, God, and herself, as do the others in the village. It was a very soul satisfying book. By the way, if you haven’t read The Little White Horse, read it too, and read it to your children. It’s a lovely fairy tale, the old fashioned kind that actually included God.
  • How God Became King by N.T. Wright–Don Finto recommended this and I really want to dive in and see what he has to say
  • Around the World in 80 Days–one of the many classics I somehow missed growing up. I started listening to it on tape on a trip and really enjoyed it.
  • The Keeper of the Bees by Gene Stratton Porter–how did I miss out on this author growing up? This is a beautiful story of healing: body, mind and spirit of a man wounded by war, and how he found his way back to God. I read this a few weeks ago, when I was feeling rather emotionally parched and weary. It was as healing for me as it was for Jaime, the main character in the book.

Books for my teenage daughter–these are of her own choosing:

  • Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Caroll
  • Little Women, Good Wives, Little Men, and Jo’s Boys by Louisa May Alcott–she’s never read the second two and I’m curious to see what she thinks
  • Chuck Black anything in his series–she met him and got him to autograph one of her books at the home school fair in Ohio. She’s quite a fan.
  • Swiss Family Robinson–OK, so I chose this one for her. She heard her dad read it to her when she was younger. Now it’s her turn…Cover of "Alice in Wonderland and Through...

My elementary aged school kids–I’m requesting that they get a variety of at least one poetry, non-fiction, how-to craft/cookbook/etc, and fiction every couple of weeks when we go to the library. It’s been interesting to see what they’ve chosen and overall enjoyed most of them. They’re reading a good bit of Magic Tree House and Magic School Bus of their own choosing. I don’t mind those. They have interesting topics and help build speed and comprehension in their reading skills. Their daddy’s reading The Saturdays by Elizabeth Enright out loud to them at night, and they all enjoy that. Other summer favorites would by Gone-Away Lake and Return to Gone-Away, also by Elizabeth Enright and both available as books on tape as well for car rides.

Cover of "Gone-Away Lake (Gone-Away Lake ...

My husband’s reading Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson, and Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon, and Platform by Michael Hyatt. I can’t vouch for any of those, but he seems to be enjoying them…

What are you and your kids reading this summer? My motto is usually so many good books, so little time (or so little money if I’m in a bookstore…). If you have something you’re loving, please share. Remember, friends don’t let friends read bad books, and on the flip side, friends should ALWAYS share their good book finds with the rest of us. Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

