Grateful for the week that wasn’t, well, what I thought it would be…

It was not the week I had planned, not at all. I was going to help out at theater camp, I had a spreadsheet worked out for the carpooling to both VBS and Center Stage, it was all set. Then, well, it wasn’t. Strep throat, gluten contamination, you name it, it came along to tweak my week. It was still good, just not the way I planned it.

Three gifts found in Christ:

  • Allowing the Holy Spirit to direct my days–my day that was to be spent helping out at the theater camp was spent at the doctor’s office with my child with strep throat and all that entails–and knowing He has a reason for the way things work out
  • Perfect love–We sang “When I look at the cross, all I see is love, love, love” yesterday and it’s still resonating with me today
  • “Truly, truly, I say to you, if you ask the Father for anything in My name, he will give it to you. Until now you have asked for nothing in My name; ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be made full.” John 16:23-24

A gift of peace, hope, love:

  • husband’s encounter that reinforced a growing conviction from the Lord, and brought a sense of peace to us both
  • Hope for the future renewed
  • Amazing Baptist churches, God love’em, who put forth great effort by so many teenagers, moms and dads, retirees and everyone in between, to be the loving arms, feet and lap of Jesus to hundreds of kids–those that go to their church and those that don’t–for a week of VBS

Three gifts ugly-beautiful:

  • ugly–illness that caused daughter to miss out on her speaking part in the play; beautiful–a chance to learn and practice submission to leadership and a good and godly attitude (she passed with flying colors, says her proud mama)
  • ugly–eminent job loss; beautiful–knowing God is in control and has something SO much better in the works
  • ugly–wee little blue fingerprints on the kitchen wall; beautiful–happy, creative little boy

Three gifts in what I am reading:

  •  “I had not known before that love is obedience. You want to love, and you can’t, and you hate yourself because you can’t, and all the time love is not some marvelous thing that you feel but some hard thing that you do. And this in a way is easier because with God’s help you can command your will when you can’t command your feelings. With us, feelings seem to be important, but He doesn’t appear to agree with us.”–from  Elizabeth Goudge’s The Scent of Water  (italics mine)
  • “God does turn evil into blessing. He causes things to work together for good. God did not send His Son into the world to explain evil, but rather to save us from it and to exemplify a life of suffering. Jesus, who was and is the God-man, suffered as no one else has or ever will. One day God will clear His own name from the charge of being unjust, but in the meantime, we need to trust Him and take Him at His Word that He is just and merciful.” –from Total Forgiveness by R.T. Kendall
  • “There are two things Jesus takes for granted in the Lord’s Prayer: that people have hurt us, and that we ourselves will need to be forgiven…Not only do we need daily forgiveness as much as we need daily bread, but we also need to pray daily that we have the grace to forgive others as a lifelong commitment. It is not easy. No one ever said it would be. It has been the hardest thing I have ever had to do, but following this phrase in the Lord’s Prayer is the clearest path to fellowship with God.”–from Total Forgiveness by R.T. Kendall

Three gifts empty:

  • my seat at Ann Voskamp’s Evening of Brokenness here in Nashville. Thankful that if I had to miss it, my friend’s husband braved a roomful of 700+ women to attend with his wife. I owe you big Chad:).
  •  my day, emptied of my own agenda, as productive as it was to be. I was reduced to dozing in bed and resting from my accidental gluten contamination.
  • empty dishwasher to start out the day

Three gifts that really made me smile:

  • Seeing a childhood friend at Target. She’s still as sweet as ever!
  • My daughter’s friend, all the way from Centerville. Such a beautiful friendship.
  • Well, I didn’t throw up all day. Not poetic, but still grateful. And really, it was more of a wan smile than a big one.

A gift at 8, 12, 2:

  • Smell of Pumpkin muffins–finding the joy in the creation and making others something they can enjoy, even if I can’t eat them myself:)
  • An unanticipated conversation after church that was amazing–thanks Meredith!
  • Finally getting to see my oldest two children in a musical with their friends at church–thanks to all the Center Stage staff for making the first week of summer unforgettable for my children
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude

Leave a Reply

