Grateful for Holy Week and a neverpicture perfect Resurrection Sunday

There are no adorable family pictures of Easter to post on Facebook this year. It didn’t feel like much of an Easter at all. After being woken up at 4:30 and informed I would “float” to a hospital unit I hadn’t worked in over two years, I was pretty nervous and unhappy. My Easter Sunday service consisted of Keith Green on YouTube singing “The Easter Song” while I ate my scrambled eggs before dawn. My daughters were sad because I wasn’t there to fix their hair and their new shoes were too big. I wasn’t there to make Easter morning sweet rolls. One son had a tummy ache from antibiotics and (I suspect) too many Peeps the day before and was difficult to get out of bed. The other had “boy hair.” My husband persevered and got everyone there –too late for the drum line that traditionally starts our Easter Services. There was no big meal–he went to the store after church because we were out of bread for sandwiches for lunch, then they had hot dogs and microwave broccoli for supper. In the afternoon, he tried to figure out how to fix our leaking kitchen sink. Didn’t really look or feel like a typical Easter, huh?

But it’s not Resurrection Sunday because we “feel” like it. Jesus didn’t rise from the dead because He “felt” like it. It has nothing to do with feelings. It has everything to do with the power of the Living God triumphing over the power of death and hell. It’s about understanding I can do nothing to be good enough to get into the Kingdom of God and understanding Jesus did everything necessary to restore relationship between us and God, if we just have faith. So here’s my gratitude list from a week of sick kids, Passover, and a less than picture perfect Resurrection Day:

Three gifts white:

  • For freshly washed white pillowcases that cradle three stuffy, coughing, feverish heads
  •  for fluffy white clouds that beckon this busy mama to the great outdoors to catch her breath and a glimpse of the glory of the heavens
  • white dogwoods blooming everywhere I look
  • (An extra one for free:)The white moon, growing rounder every night closer to Passover

Three gifts surprisingly found:

  • A bowl of fruit that turned out to be a landscape
  • Tiny Dutch Iris where I thought there were none
  • time to contemplate in a day of urgent needs

Three gifts in His Word:

  • “Peace I leave with you. My peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your heart be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27
  • John 15–the whole thing! I just can’t choose my favorite part. From “I am the vine and you are the branches” to  “I call you friends” to “ask anything in my name and the Father will do it” to “you did not choose me, but I chose you.”
  •  “Why do you seek the Living among the dead? He is not here, but He has risen.” Luke 24:5-6.

Three gifts at 11am, 2 pm and 6pm:

  • Passover preparations, well under way
  • quiet time
  • final turn for the better for my sick kids

Three gifts nailed together:

  • three garden bed with new sprouts of peas, beans, and melons
  • a new easel just my size
  • Jesus, nailed to the cross in agony, to save a wretch like me from the hell of life without Him

Three gifts waited for:

  • A Passover celebration, as neverpictureperfect as is was–the brisket drew up, the matzoh was not Kosher for Passover and I forgot the devilled eggs, but we celebrated with good friends and marvelled at the faithfulness of the Lord
  • a gift for someone else that finally arrived in the mail (shhh, don’t tell!)
  • The first peony of the season!

Three gifts rising up:

  • A perfect Passover moon
  • Resurrection Sunday sunrise on the way to work
  • A dear little cousin, baptized by his father on Easter Sunday, now a brother in Christ as well!
4 Comments

Filed under Gratitude

4 responses to “Grateful for Holy Week and a neverpicture perfect Resurrection Sunday

  1. Your not so picture perfect Easter makes the beauty of all He did stand out. It takes the focus off of the details and onto Him. Enjoyed reading your list. Love the pictures of the flowers. Just beautiful! blessings to you!

  2. Stacy

    Beautiful, Lara..thanks for your perspective. I was at home alone on Resurrection Day with a sick child. My Easter lunch was all I had in the fridge….melted cheese on rice cakes, but God is still so good :)!

Leave a Reply

