Lent Week 5 Grateful for Waving Palms of Praise

Three gifts almost gone:

  • Spring, that somehow slipped in past a mild winter and now is hiding behind an early summer
  • my eldest daughter’s childhood–but I’m so happy she still loves to climb trees and play on the tire swing!
  • this school year, rapidly coming to a close, even with an extra week of Spring Break/sick time

Three gifts redeemed:

  • a week with sick children–time to work in the garden between cups of soup, tea, and medicine
  • no time for my painting class, converted shells to garden markers instead (more on that later in the week) to satisfy my need for creativity
  • a gift card that brought a much-needed tablecloth to my dining room

Three gifts entwined:

  • compost–that wonderfully rich soil made from decomposing vegetation that’s used for growing new vegetation
  • legs and arms entangled, holding three sick kids at once
  • time for my daughter to spend with her newly 90-year-old great-grandmother and both enjoying the memories

Three gifts of His promises:

  •  “Do not let your heart be troubled ; believe in God, believe also in Me.  In My Father’s house are many dwelling places ; if it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you. If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also.” John 14:1-3
  • Ask rain from the LORD at the time of the spring rain – The LORD who makes the storm clouds; And He will give them showers of rain, vegetation in the field to each man. Zechariah 10:1 (believing this for my garden this week)
  • “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

Three gifts uncovered:

  • tiny shoots from dutch iris I thought dead, after being run over by a careless weed eater
  • happy daughter, with newly discovered love of painting
  • joyful spirit of my children, surprising me by filling garden beds while I’m at work

A gift heard, a gift held, a gift hoped for:

  • Young ones singing “Little Grey Donkey” with all their hearts
  • beautiful Dutch Iris from my husband
  • garden boxes, in my own yard, after a 5 year absence!

Three gifts on my own, since I don’t have a copy of April’s Joy Dare yet:):

  • kind text from friend during church–so nice to be missed!
  • time to finish planning out the new week, new month and the rest of the school year
  • gingerbread tea, pineapple juice, motrin, and antibiotics for my sweet ones who feel so bad, but I know will recover quickly
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude

Leave a Reply

