Week Five of Lent–Gratitude for Spring Break

I have no idea what happened last week, but despite my best attempts, I could not get the blog to work– I couldn’t type of post. But, it was Spring Break, so I took it:). A week later, here we are: a week of playing,  a trip to the zoo, seeing friends, stocking my freezer with almost half a cow, trip to Mennonite country in Kentucky, planning a garden, CPR class, a ninetieth birthday extravaganza for my little grandmother, a cousin photo shoot and a 12 hour shift at the hospital, I really feel like a need a break. But life moves on and so do I: this week is finish building/planting the garden, another class for work, getting ready for Palm Sunday at church and the children’s School of Worship helping lead us all into worship, and trying to squeeze in a painting class and planning a backpacking trip. Whew! My gratitude list for the week:

Three gifts eaten:

  • A gluten-free brownie recipe that made me feel treated, not left out of dessert
  • Tomato caprese, after a winter of unworthy tomatoes
  • devilled eggs, made by daughters

Three gifts that made me laugh:

  • talent show by eight enthusiastic great grand kids for one who, I’m not sure heard much of what went on:)
  • story of a Super Bowl fondue mishap that only two nurses could appreciate
  • watching eight kids and my grandmother gleefully pick 90 candles off the cake and lick the icing off the bottom (don’t tell me you don’t do that at your house too!)–for once everyone had plenty!

A gift salty, sweet and just right:

  • cashews
  • chocolate
  • hot tea on a cool morning

Three gifts in His Word:

  • And He who sits on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” And He *said, “Write, for these words are faithful and true.” Rev 21:5
  • “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30
  • “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.” Ecclesiastes 3:11-13

Three gifts found in women today:

  • A ninety-year old grandmother, reminiscing about The Depression, The War, and life with five brothers
  • A mother and sister, who cheerfully came to help one (yes, that would be me) struggling in a mess of all sorts, to make a week after working a little less challenging and tiring..
  • Gentle encouragement from a dear friend on the farm, whose heart is still so close to mine, despite the miles between us

Three gifts spoken:

  • “Drop your stone of judgement and pray”
  • my former pastor, who is not afraid to tackle the tough issues, with courage, conviction, and compassion–thank you Stephen
  • “I feel the same inside now as when I was 15!”–my grandmother’s response to my daughter asking how it felt to be 90

A  gift sung, written and painted:

  • hearing my two youngest pick out on the piano, then sing, their Palm Sunday song
  • “The essence of sin is man substituting himself for God, while the essence of salvation is God substituting himself for man. Man asserts himself against God and puts himself where only God deserves to be; God sacrifices himself for man and puts himself where only man deserves to be. Man claims prerogatives what belong to God alone; God accepts penalties which belong to man alone.” John Stott in Bread and Wine: Readings for Lent and Easter
  • A library art show of my art teacher and her very talented students–they were really amazing and inspiring!
2 Comments

Filed under Gratitude

2 responses to “Week Five of Lent–Gratitude for Spring Break

  1. Stacy

    You are so special to me….thanks and love!

Leave a Reply

