Gratitude 2012-starting anew

I’ve been keeping a gratitude list for quite a while now. As I’ve joined the Joy Dare, I’m going to keep doing it, and numbering my gifts. Here are my gifts for the first eight days of the year:

  1. That I’ve stayed with my blog. It has challenged me to persevere.
  2. A new year, a new chance to start over with my exercise routine
  3. Being given the challenge to mother my four children
  4. blustery days
  5. a soft fuzzy blanket
  6. farm fresh milk and eggs
  7. “You confess rather than compromise. That’s the way to become spotless, purified, and refined.” – Don Finto
  8. “And He who sits on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” And He said, “Write, for these words are faithful and true.” Then He said to me, “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give to the one who thirsts from the spring of the water of life without cost. He who overcomes will inherit these things, and I will be his God and he will be My son. ” Rev 21:5-7
  9. “The reason that marriage is so painful and yet wonderful is because it is a reflection of the Gospel, which is painful and wonderful at once. The Gospel is—we are more sinful and flawed in ourselves than we ever dared to believe, and at the very same time we are more loved and accepted in Jesus Christ than we ever dared hope. This is the only kind of relationship that will really transform us. Love without truth is sentimentality; it supports and affirms us but keeps us in denial about our flaws. Truth without love is harshness; it gives us information but in such a way that we cannot really hear it. God’s saving love in Christ, however, is marked by both radical truthfulness about who we are and yet also radical, unconditional commitment to us. The merciful commitment strengthens us to see the truth about ourselves and repent. The conviction and repentance moves us to cling to and rest in God’s mercy and grace.” Tim Keller in The Meaning of Marriage
  10. my new coffee cup from a friend-for my tea:)
  11. the old quilt on our bed, pieced by my great-grandmother and quilted by her mother
  12. the honest blue eyes of my Doodlebug
  13. the Book of Mark and those I’ve been privilege to study with for the last four months
  14. learning to put what I see and what I feel on canvas with paint
  15. winter sunsets over bare black tree silhouettes
  16. reading George MacDonald for the first time
  17. a perfect avocado
  18. a Kindle from my love–can’t wait to take it on the plane to Ethiopia:)
  19. so grateful God made Sabbath for man–I do so need that day to recharge!
  20. texting accountability with my sister
  21. the joy is brings my husband to watch me stretch my wings
  22. my sweet little ones who still happily hold my hand to keep me safe when I cross the street–then don’t let go when we’ve crossed
  23. A day for birthdays–my nephew, sister-in-law, and a best friend all on one day!
  24. That the sideswiping on the way home from church injured only the van and the truck that hit us
  25. grateful for a new term–fresh starts and the familiarity and stability routine brings
2 Comments

Filed under Gratitude

2 responses to “Gratitude 2012-starting anew

  1. Marilyn Weldin

    Lara – concerning #1 – persisting with the blog. Please know that probably lots of people who read your blog are like me. We read your posts gratefully, so happy to have your godly thoughts burnish our day. Yet we don’t feel the need to comment. So please know that your writing blesses me and helps me in my walk with God. I’m happy when I see one in my Inbox.

    Love you –
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

