Never picture perfect Christmas recipes

I really love to cook and bake. Bread is my favorite, but I enjoy the process of cooking just about everything. I enjoy the challenge of new recipes, but at Christmas, I really don’t want to spend all my time in the kitchen. Here are some really easy recipes I enjoy making with the kids. Some are made with white flour and I can’t eat them. I usually don’t mind, but not being able to eat Oreo Truffles makes me a little sad. No one, not even Trader Joes makes whole wheat oreo-type cookies. I still enjoy making them with my kids.:) I got this recipe from the Flylady site and renamed it. (Update–now I’ve gone gluten-free, I found Glutino sandwich cookies to sub for “oreos” and they taste wonderful in the truffles)

OREO TRUFFLES

20 oz. chocolate sandwich cookies (oreos or Jo-Jo’s are our favorite–you can use regular, chocolate filling or mint flavored)

8 oz. block of cream cheese, softened

1/2 tsp vanilla or peppermint flavoring, totally optional. I usually leave them out.

chocolate and white bark coating-a package or less per batch

Oreo truffles

Crush cookies in food processor or by hand in a plastic bag with a rolling pin. Beat cream cheese until soft, then add cookie crumbs. Mix until all brown and no streaks of white show. Roll into small  1 inch balls and place on cookie sheet lined with parchment, waxed paper, or a silpat mat. Refrigerate at least 2 hours, or freeze 30 minutes if you’re short on time. Decide what you want your truffles to be coated with–chocolate or white. I’m partial to chocolate and then color the white with a tiny bit of candy coloring to make fancy but easy decorations. Or you could do some of both. Melt about 1/2 the package in a bowl or measuring cup according the package directions. Remove truffles from freezer and dip one at a time in melted bark, placing back on the baking sheet once you’ve rescued it from its chocloate bath with a spoon. If you run out of chocolate, or it hardens before you’re done, melt more or remelt what you have. After you’ve finished the entire batch, you can go back with the same bark or the opposite one and drizzle lightly over the truffles to make them look fancy. One year my kids even lightly sprinkled them with nonpareils. Fun and easy and everyone loves them!

CROOKIES

Tastes like a Twix candy bar – but thinner . My son also likes to sub graham crackers for the saltines.

  • Spread 1 sleeve of salteens on baking sheet
  • Melt on med-low heat 1 stick of butter & 1 cup of brown sugar until ooey and gooey.
  • Pour over evenly over crackers.
  • Bake for 5 minutes on 350 degrees–will be bubbly.
  • Remove from oven and sprinkle 1 bag of MILK chocolate chips. They will melt fast;   spread with back of spoon.
  • Pop into fridge or freezer until set & break apart.

CHOCOLATE CRINKLES

These are my very favorite cookies at Christmas. Here’s the link.

THREE INGREDIENT YUMMINESS

Here’s the link–all it takes is pretzels, kisses or rolos and M&M’s

OATMEAL BROWNIE GEMS–great to take to a party because it makes alot. I use the green and red regular sized M&M’s to make it festive. Here’s the link.

GREEN PUNCH–I’ve never had punch like this anywhere, but it’s my favorite:

Combine 2 pkg lemon lime Koolaid, all the sugar called for on the 2 packages, 1/2 the water called for, 1 can frozen OJ (thawed), a can of pineapple juice, and 1/2 cup lemon juice. Stir and chill. If you like, you can add a bit of gingerale to each glass before serving.

Choose an easy recipe and make it with your kids today. You’ll make memories that are sweeter than the treats and last longer too!

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

One response to “Never picture perfect Christmas recipes

  1. es133

    Reblogged this on Our favourite recipes blog and commented:
    Do have a look at our blog post re: oreo truffles. We also have some lovely recipes for you to have a look at!

Leave a Reply

