Gratitude Thanksgiving Day and every day…

nail nail nailI was inspired by Ann’s post Thanksgiving morning:

In this counting of thanks, one thousand gifts and more, I discover that slapping a sloppy brush of thanksgiving over everything in my life leaves me deeply thankful for very few things in my life… and I testify: 

life-changing gratitude does not fasten to a life unless nailed through with one very specific nail at a time. Little nails and a steady hammer can rebuild a life… – One Thousand Gifts

Little nails and a steady hammer. What a difference consistently making a list of all I’m grateful for makes! First off it makes me more grateful and content. And it takes the pressure off Thanksgiving–I mean if you haven’t thanked God all year for anything except your food three times a day, well, you kind of have a backlog. Who wants to give  frantic thanks that one day of a year? You can’t make up for lost time or remember what God’s done or given you the last year. The peace that giving thanks all year brings to Thanksgiving Day, and all other days for that matter is amazing.

It really isn’t hard to give thanks daily, or even weekly.  You don’t have to start a blog. That was easier for me because I’d be sure not to lose the book in which I wrote my thanks. Sigh. Ann Voskamp has very sweet papers you can copy out to write your thanks on, then you can store it in a shoebox, a gratitude box like we have, or even an envelope. Or she has a free app for phones (on the right hand side), if you have a phone that does that kind of thing. You can keep it on your phone! How is that for easy? Regardless of where you keep it, just do it. God was always commanding the Israelites to remember what He had done for them–saving them , feeding them, bringing them to the Promised Land. Write it down to remember. Soon, you’ll have an Ebenezer of thanksgiving to remember what God has done in yourlife. And once you see how much He’s done for you, how can you keep from sharing that all joy and grace and thanksgiving with others? Being grateful changes your life and which in turn changes others!

So here’s my list for the week:

  • little boys with fresh haircuts
  • dimples
  • time with my family
  • children who keep it real–their thankful lists include donuts, toys, our dog and underwear:)
  • lovely people to work with once a month
  • gingerbread tea and pumpkin scones
  • coming home to clean laundry
  • creative children and the messes they make
  • my youngest losing his first tooth! (OK, so that one’s bittersweet)
  • a birthday full of sweet wishes and laughter
  • decorating the Christmas tree with my family
  • my husband who is more daring than I am, but keeps my children safe:)
  • days at home that end with soup and sandwiches and good friends and good conversation
  • first batch of Christmas cookies and the giggles of children while decorating (and eating)
  • a warm, soft bed on a cold, rainy night
    Nailed

    Image by arbyreed via Flickr

     

 

2 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Meditation

2 responses to “Gratitude Thanksgiving Day and every day…

  1. Pingback: One Egg Left | Refusing to Tiptoe

  2. Pingback: One thousand gifts in 2012: I Dare You | Refusing to Tiptoe

Leave a Reply

