Gratitude by the sea

What an utterly amazing week for our family. My husband, our four children (ages 13, 10, 7, and 5) , my sister, her husband, their four children (ages 7,5,3 and 2) and my parents (not telling their ages), and I all spent a week on the panhandle of Florida. After a difficult year all around, it was a much-needed respite. Time to play, read, take walks, eat seafood, swim, build sand castles and just be. It was a week of so much gratitude–not just being there with those I love, but so many simple gifts of beauty and majesty from the Lord. Here’s my list from our lovely week:

  • watching my four children run straight from the van into the ocean–fully clothed and laughing–and watching the smiling spectators enjoy their enthusiasm
  • waves like perfect arcs of transparent green glass, shattering into foamy white on the shore
  • sound of the ocean lulling me to sleep every night
  • snuggling with Doodlebug on the balcony on a deck chair under a beach towel, mesmerized by the crashing waves
  • before-breakfast walks on the beach
  • week-long sandcastle projects
  • body boards and perfect waves
  • freckled noses
  • movie and popcorn on a cool day
  • giggling cousins
  • pan-fried grouper and Gouda cheese grits–need I say more?
  • time to dip into Dorothy Sayers, Ngaio Marsh, and a first visit to Cranford
  • A night out for hamburgers, shakes, and mini golf
  • Monarchs stopping off for a refill on their migration South
  • Eight cousins filling up the pool:)
  • kayaking with the dolphins
  • sunset perfection
4 Comments

Filed under Family, Gratitude

4 responses to “Gratitude by the sea

  1. Becky Nickins

    What an absolutely enchanting time!!! As I read your blog, I find myself to be one of the “smiling spectators”! Oh, how I miss you, Jonathan, and your precious children! Please give everyone a love hug for me and as I always tell you…………You’re doing “life” right!!! May God continue to bless you today and forever. Love you!

    • Thanks sweet Becky! We miss you too! My sister and I were talking about cuddly babies this week and I told her about how you always had to have your Scooter Boy hugs on Sundays and Wednesdays:). Thanks for pouring into my children and me!

  2. oh wow, grouper and gouda grits. I wish I had a young person to teach the letter G to!!!!! Miss you guys.

Leave a Reply

