Whole Wheat Shiny Happy Chocolate Cookies

So I gave up chocolate for Lent and spent the last week planning what I’d break my fast with on Easter Sunday. I’m sure I totally messed up my Lenten experience doing that, but there you go. Since I had to give up white flour earlier this year, I’m always trying to adapt recipes to fit my whole wheat needs as well.

This recipe for Shiny Happy Chocolate Cookies is perfection. I did some changing around for the white flour, and I didn’t have any brown sugar and so I used Sucanat and a bit of molasses. Here’s my interpretation of an amazing recipe. Enjoy.

1/2 cup freshly milled whole wheat (from soft white wheat berries) flour

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

8 oz  semi-sweet chocolate chips

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 large eggs

2 tablespoons sucanat

1 tsp unsulfured molasses

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

2/3 cup walnuts or pecans, chopped and toasted (optional)

Melt 8 oz chocolate chips and butter in microwave and stir. Allow to cool 5 minutes.

Beat eggs, sugars and molasses in the bowl of a stand mixer for 2-3 minutes. It will be thick and golden brown in color. Beat the melted chocolate mixture into the egg mixture, then the vanilla. Add the flour mixture and stir it gently into the batter. Make sure the batter is cool, then add the chocolate chips and walnuts.

Chill dough for at least one hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with a silpat or use a baking stone. Drop tablespoons of dough onto pan, leaving about 2-3 inches in between.  Bake 10-12 minutes, until puffed and shiny, but before the middle is totally set. They’ll continue to set after pulling them out of the oven. After baking the first pan, if the dough spreads too far, add another tablespoon of flour to remaining dough before baking the next pan. Makes 20-24, depending on size of cookies and how much dough you eat before you bake them:)

I’m sorry I don’t have a picture to post. I was going to take a picture of them yesterday, but we ate them all…

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Whole Wheat Baking

Leave a Reply

