Gratitude in the second week of Lent

The reason Lent is so long is that this path to the truth of oneself is long and snagged with thorns, and at the very end one stands alone before the broken body crowned with thorns upon the cross. All alone–with not one illusion or self-delusion to prop one up. Yet not alone, for the Spirit of Holiness, who is also the Spirit of Helpfulness, is beside you and me.–Edna Hong in Bread and Wine: Reading for Lent and Easter

I nearly gave up Lent for chocolate this weekend. I was in a stressful situation and thought I really needed some. Wow. Really? Do I so depend on any thing more than Jesus that I’d give up so quickly rather than turn to Him? I had strawberries instead, and I’m glad I did.  Here’s my gratitude list for the last week:

  • Billowing Bradford Pears, plum and tulip trees in bloom.
  • My kids act out the story of Esther for Purim and realizing that in the midst of being punished for their unfaithfulness, God still saved His chosen people from certain destruction.
  • Watching the Super-moon rise and set on the way  home from work all weekend
  • Making garden boxes on the farm with a friend
  • Righteous men, unafraid to speak and write the truth in a generation of people who “will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.” (2 Timothy 4:3-4)
  • An amazing God that gives us His personal words, to study and learn from and the Holy Spirit who helps us correctly use the Bible to make difficult decisions.
  • Juicy sweet spring strawberries and knowing God always gives me a way out of temptation (1 Corinthians 10:13)
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude

Leave a Reply

