neverpictureperfect Lent ideas

So I grew up Baptist. We didn’t celebrate Lent. It wasn’t condemned or anything, it just wasn’t talked about. One of my grandmothers had grown up in a different branch of the protestant denominational tree and did celebrate it. She gave up desserts. As a child, that seemed unbelievable to me, and I really didn’t understand it at all.

Now I’m not Baptist. I’m enjoying studying different aspects of Christianity. Is Lent necessary? Am I going to hell if I don’t participate? No. Can it be a form of legalism? Yep. But, so many things in the church can become legalistic if we let them.

So here’s what’s in the works at our house. First, my husband and I are reading a lovely book, Bread and Wine: Readings for Lent and Easter. Of course, this was my first day reading it, but I already like it.

Here’s a website with some nice Lenten ideas, called Domestic-Church.com:Fridge Art. I especially like the Lenten Cross, an advent-type reading set for Easter, and From Creche to Cave.

Here’s an interesting page on the history of Lent and how it’s 40 days long even if it’s 46 days til Easter.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t link to Ann’s thoughts and practices of Lent, that are so much clearer than mine:). I have the Advent/Lent wreath Ann’s son made and am planning on using it this season as well.

As we walk toward Resurrection Sunday, here are five activities to think about using to celebrate this most special day.

If you have any other ideas, please share them with us all.

3 Comments

Filed under Holidays

3 responses to “neverpictureperfect Lent ideas

  1. rob

    Hey Laura, I like your writing style, and thanks for all the Lent links.

  2. Hi Lara – i also never heard much about Lent growing up. have been thinking about it this year but didn’t make any plans. at least i’m thinking…love your blog. fran

Leave a Reply

