A step of faith

 

See Beth's pictures hanging below the window in the background? Neat idea, huh?

A few months ago a friend of mine picked up an item for me from Ikea. It’s basically a curtain wire with O rings you can clip curtains to and then slide over the wire. I didn’t buy it for that purpose, but to hang my kids’ art on to decorate our playroom/school room. I got the idea from my friend Beth and was so excited when I found someone actually going to Ikea, because it was a store only item, and for some reason, Nashville is so far, not Ikea-worthy. I got it and loved it, but I still haven’t put it up. Yes I am busy, and I do tend to take my time when hanging up art on our walls, but that really wasn’t the reason I hadn’t installed my art hanger.

 

I was afraid to. Not skill-wise; I’ve single-handedly put together Target furniture of all shapes and sizes since we married and have that part down pat. I was afraid of committing. Yes, we’ve lived in our house two years this month, but I was afraid to commit to drilling holes in the walls and having this hanger become part of the house. See, when you sell the house, anything screwed in, goes with it. I know that sounds stupid, but with the current employment situation in our family, there is a chance we will have to sell our house. God has certainly been more than faithful so far, and He will continue His faithfulness. We just don’t know if that means He’ll be faithful to provide our mortgage payment or faithful to provide another place to live should we have to rent out or sell our house.

Anyway, I’ve decided to take the plunge and put up the hanger. I want to display my kids’ art, and with four kids, there’s really too much to fit on one refrigerator. Nothing’s changed. There is no new job with steady paycheck and medical benefits. The change is in me. I want to put it up. I’m not afraid. I’m stepping out in faith that God’s still going to work all this out. If we have to move after all, well, I can leave it and buy a new one, or take it down and move it with us. I’m not going to be paralyzed by indecision anymore. It’s going up.

I’m hoping to put it up today, but now my husband is sick as well. Hopefully I can put it up between taking care of all these people in various stages of illness post pictures, mainly of the art work, but also of my step of faith in God’s provision, one way or another.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Homeschool, Meditation

2 responses to “A step of faith

  1. Stacy

    Good for you, Lara! Hopefully you’ll have a chance to put it up soon! Reading your post reminded me of what I am learning about right now in this Bible study I’m doing by Priscilla Shirer-One in a Million. She talks in one of the lessons about living expectantly and experiencing God’s power and presence in spite of difficulty. I hope this verse she quotes encourages you… “It was for freedom that Christ set us free; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery.” Gal. 5:1

    • Thanks Stacy! I hope I can get it put up this afternoon. I can’t wait to enjoy it instead of be concerned about packing it up or putting a hole in the wall!

Leave a Reply

