This is the day the Lord has made…

I will rejoice and be glad in it. Sometimes it is an act of the will to look back over the week and be grateful.  Once I start listing what God has done, the gratitude continues.  I’m not quite to the place of Corrie ten Boom, who thanked God for the lice and bedbugs that kept the Nazi guards from her barracks. I am thankful for other things He has done this week:

  • Going deep into God’s word and meeting the Holy Spirit there to help work out my salvation with fear and trembling.
  • Encountering Jehovah Jireh, the Lord Who Provides or The Lord Who Will See to It, in faith that He will
  • Gentle kindness of friends who sit quietly with us in our hour of need.
  • Four generations of our family sitting around our table eating beans and cornbread.
  • Grandparents’ admiration of their grandchildren’s accomplishments.
  • Prayers of righteous men and women that accomplish so much. (James 5:16)
  • Stars in a clear, early morning sky
  • Living in a country where I can take my kids with me to vote
  • Realizing perfect love casts out all fear (1 John 4:18)
2 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Meditation

2 responses to “This is the day the Lord has made…

  1. Becky Nickins

    I cry as I read this remembering all too well those silent voices of despair. I know that many people have shared their testimonies with you of how God has met their needs and you are well aware of my own story. I, too, could hardly wait to be “on the other side” to share what great things God did and how His timing is always perfect. I’m on the other side now and I’m ever so grateful to verify that “what concerns you; concerns God” and that He’s got your back!

    If only someone could read your posts and recognize what a wonderful writer you are! You write your daily life as if it is poetry dripping off the end of your pen (keyboard, haha).
    Jonathan is one of the most talented musicians I know and he hasn’t been given those gifts for God not to use them in a very special way.

    Forgive me for not being as diligent to keep up and to pray fervently. I commit to you today that I will get back on track and pray for your family, your job situations, and that the voices will continue to shout hope and joy to you rather than doom and despair. I just can’t wait to see what God has in store.

    I love you and miss your precious family. Laura, I look at ya’ll and one thing I know…..
    you’re doing it right!…and God will bless that and use that in unimaginable ways.
    Now, may the “God of hope and perfect timing” fill you with hope, trust, and joy knowing how very much He cares for you.

Leave a Reply

