To life!

Part of the Shabbat or Sabbath celebration is a toast “La Chaim” (pronounced “la hime” but with a cough in hime if you know what I mean). It means “to life.” As we were sitting around the campfire last week, celebrating the Feast of Tabernacles or Booths, we broke the bread and toasted “to life” with our plastic cups of the vine.  And what a life I have to be grateful for! Here’s my list for the week:

  • worship around a campfire with family and friends
  • shooting stars
  • children’s laughter in the woods
  • a moms’ night out to celebrate a birthday
  • a yard dotted with forts, “pirate ships,” running dogs and shouting boys
  • Wednesday night group studying 1 John
  • Fall weather finally coming to Nashville!
  • The Boot Camp crew–it makes a 5 am class worth it
  • the smell of homemade bread
  • anticipation of Fall Break
  • coming home from work to clean laundry and cleaned bathrooms

Go out and celebrate the life God’s given you this week.  La’chaim!

4 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Holidays, Meditation

4 responses to “To life!

  1. Kristin Rigsby

    Laura,
    What a wonderful message! I really enjoy reading your blog…so honest and so inspirational! I’m going to go make my own list of things I’m grateful for:). I hope you have a wonderful day!
    Kristin

  2. Good day!This was a really fabulous topic!
    I come from milan, I was luck to seek your topic in google
    Also I obtain much in your theme really thanks very much i will come every day

Leave a Reply

