Cookie Confession

I feed my children cookies for breakfast. Not every day.  Just once a week.  I’m sure my mother is cringing if she’s reading this.  I am really an unorganized person who has put lots of rails in my life.  Charlotte Mason suggested mothers establish habits in their children that would be like rails on a train line to keep the train on track.  I decided I needed some rails myself, because my world goes from organized to anarchy in 5 minutes flat. One of my rails is a set breakfast menu. Since I’m also trying to cut down on breakfast cereal–both expensive and unhealthy-I needed some alternatives, and Breakfast Cookies made the cut.  I mean, come on, they have to be more healthy than that Honeycomb cereal we used to eat (only vacation of course)–you know the one that would leave the roof of your mouth raw? Here’s my weekly menu:

  • Monday-scrambled eggs and Marvelous Monday Morning Muffins Made by Mommy (named by my children, not me–we were talking about alliteration)
  • Tuesday-cereal
  • Wednesday-fruit, yogurt or hard-boiled eggs and Breakfast Cookies
  • Thursday-scrambled eggs and toast
  • Friday-cereal
  • Saturday-scrambled eggs with pancakes, french toast, or make ahead sweet rolls
  • Sunday-Breakfast Sandwiches

This list helps me make my grocery list.  I have a menu for breakfast and lunch printed up in my kitchen notebook, with a grocery list with every item I could possibly need at the store to make all these meals. I stockpile and freeze as much of this as I can, like those bread flats, sliced cheese, yogurt and turkey bacon. The rest, like fruit, milk and eggs I get weekly through my CSA and at the store.  Sometimes I still run out of stuff, or people eat more than I anticipate, but this has really helped me out.

Back to the cookies.  I’ve dabbled with breakfast cookies since I saw some in the store, tried them, and thought them nasty.  My sister has pestered me nicely asked for a couple of weeks for my recipe and I’m just now getting around to writing down my latest version.  Since I got free Quaker Oats this week (yay HT Super Doubles!), I made a version especially for her to use with her crew.  I usually mill my own flour and press my own oats and the measurements are a little different.  She is not the glutton for punishment I am, so here’s my version for her and everyone else who is WAY more sane than I am. Try them out for breakfast or snack time and see if your kids like them.

BREAKFAST COOKIES

1/4 cup butter (not margarine)
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
2 Tbl peanut butter
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 c. whole wheat flour
2 1/2 cups oatmeal–quick or old-fashioned
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Combine first 5 ingredients (butter through peanut butter) and beat until fluffy.  Stir in egg. Mix in next four ingredients just until incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop in 12 large balls on a cookie sheet or baking stone.  If you use the cookie sheet I’d suggest a Silpat if you have one, or greasing if you don’t.  Flatten cookies with your palms.  If your kids like eating a large number of cookies, make them smaller.  My kids think it’s fun to eat a really big cookie.  You know your kids.  Bake to accommodate! Bake at 350 for 7-12 minutes, depending on how big you make them;  My big cookies are ready after 10 minutes. Don’t burn them.  They should be soft.  If they resemble hockey pucks in texture, send them to work with your husband and call them biscotti, then make another batch for your kids.  If you’re feeling especially industrious or organized, quadruple the recipe.  The 3/4 you don’t use, roll into three logs, wrap tightly in parchment paper and plastic wrap, then place in a freezer bag and freeze.  Thaw over night and bake as usual.

3 Comments

Filed under Charlotte Mason, Family, Recipes

3 responses to “Cookie Confession

  1. Pingback: Getting ready for a new school year: breakfast menus | never picture perfect

  2. Pingback: Planning Breakfast for the New School Year | never picture perfect

  3. Pingback: Breakfast Plan for the School Year | never picture perfect

Leave a Reply

